How to Delete Your Hotmail or Outlook Email Account

Want to close your Microsoft account? Or delete your Outlook or Hotmail account? Here’s how to do it properly.

Yes, you can delete or close a Hotmail account due to any reason. There is no need for any documentation or follow a lengthy procedure. Here is the guide with step by step details to delete or close your Hotmail account. Have a look.

How to Delete Your Hotmail or Outlook Email Account

Step 1:

  • Open hotmail.com from your web browser and enter the right credentials (Email & password) to sign in to your account.

Step 2:

  • You can see your profile image or your initials (if you have not set up the photo) at the screen’s top right corner.

Step 3:

  • Click on it and choose the view account option.

Step 4:

  • From that, click on security & privacy >>more security settings.

Step 5:

  • Now, you will receive a request to verify your identity. Here you have to enter your registered mobile number or email address to send the code.

Step 6:

  • As soon as you click on the send code, the Microsoft service will send it to the selected option.

Step 7:

  • Open it and enter it, the box reflected on your screen.

Step 8:

  • Click on the submit tab.

Step 9:

  • Next, scroll down and click on the close my account option.

Step 10:

  • It will ask you for an account login. Please do it. You also have to verify your password as you are closing your outlook account.

Step 11:

  • enter your email and password and click Next.

Step 12:

  • Now read the list from the drop-down menu and choose the reason why you want to close the account.

Step 13:

  • Next, click on Mark account for closure, and you can see a notification pop up on your screen that informs you could re-open your account within 60 days/

Step 14:

  • Click on Done, and your account is close.

Note:

When you close your Hotmail or outlook account, you will lose access to all the services associated with Microsoft.

You will lose;

  • all email and contacts
  • all the events, entries, and other things on the calendar
  • Everything placed in OneDrive
  • Access to office 365, if you have
  • Access to Xbox Live account, if you are using the outlook email address
  • Skype login access

Make sure you get a backup for everything listed above. However, you can re-open it within 60 days of deactivation. After 60 days, it will automatically delete your Hotmail account.

Delete or remove Hotmail is easy but make sure you do it wisely; otherwise, you can face significant data loss in such a case. What are your thoughts on it?